

## SCOTTISH PHARMACY BOARD MEETING

Minutes of the meeting held on Tuesday 3 July 2018, at Holyrood Park House, 106 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AS.

## **PUBLIC BUSINESS**

### Present:

Mr Ewan Black (EB)
Dr Anne Boyter (ACB)
Mr Jonathan Burton (JB)
Mr Alasdair Macintyre (AM)

Dr John McAnaw (JMcA) Dr Ailsa Power (AP) Mrs Deborah Stafford (DS)

#### In attendance:

Aileen Bryson (ABr), Deputy Director for Scotland and Scottish Practice and Policy Lead, Boyana Atanasova (BA), Digital Communications Executive, Susanne Cameron-Nielsen (SCN), Head of External Relations, Dawn Ferguson (DF), Business Support Assistant, Annamarie McGregor (AMcG), Practice Development Lead, Carolyn Rattray (CR), Business Manager, Alex MacKinnon (AMK), Director for Scotland, Sheona Burrow (SB), RPS Solicitor and Carolyn Chai (CC), Student placement (Strathclyde) and Prof Hamish Wilson (HW), Lay Member of the RPS Assembly (from 10:45).

Alex MacKinnon (AMK), Director for Scotland, took the Chair for the meeting.

#### 1. Welcome

AMK welcomed Board Members (BMs) to the meeting, extending special welcomes to Sheona Burrow (SB) and Carolyn Chai; AMK also welcomed back to the Scottish Pharmacy Board (SPB), as re-elected Board Members, Dr Anne Boyter (ACB) and Mr Ewan Black (EB); EB was re-elected after a break of one year. As both ACB and EB had been re-elected, introductions were not deemed necessary.

BMs were also advised that Hamish Wilson (RPS Assembly Lay Member) would join the Induction meeting and that Prof Norman Lannigan would join the meeting for the afternoon session.

### 2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Kathleen Cowle and Johnathan Laird.

### 3. New Regulations

The Scottish Pharmacy Board

noted

the new Regulations for 2018/2019. The new Regulations replace the former Governance Handbook, Regulations and Schedules to the Regulations.

# 4. Affirmation of Dr John McAnaw as Chair of Scottish Pharmacy Board for a second year.

SPB Members were asked to affirm Dr John McAnaw (JMcA) as SPB Chair for a second year (2018/2019).

The Scottish Pharmacy Board

### affirmed by acclaim

Dr John McAnaw (JMcA) as Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board for a second year, in accordance with the Regulations, for the period 2018/2019. JMcA confirmed that he had no other declarations of interest in relation to the position of the Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board.

# 5. Affirmation of Jonathan Burton as Vice Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board for a second year

SPB Members were asked to affirm Mr Jonathan Burton (JB) as SPB Vice-Chair for a second year, in accordance with the Regulations, for the period 2018/2019. JB confirmed that he had no other declarations of interest in relation to the position of the Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board.

The Scottish Pharmacy Board

### affirmed by acclaim

Jonathan Burton as Vice-Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board for a second year, in accordance with the Regulations, for the period 2018/2019.

# Election of the Scottish Pharmacy Board's second representative to the RPS Assembly

Board Members were asked to nominate a candidate to be the second Scottish Pharmacy Board representative to the RPS Assembly; Board Members were reminded that they could self-nominate.

Ewan Black (EB) nominated himself; his nomination was seconded by Jonathan Burton (JB). No other nominations were received.

the Scottish Pharmacy Board

## affirmed by acclaim

Ewan Black as the Scottish Pharmacy Board's (SPB) second representative to the RPS Assembly for the period 2018 / 2019. EB confirmed that there were no other declarations of interest in relation to the position of second representative to the RPS Assembly.

The Chair then took over the position of Chair for the remaining meetings.

The Scottish Pharmacy Board formal Public Business Elections' Meeting, held on Tuesday 3 July 2018, was concluded at 11:10.