ROYAL Pharmaceutical Society

WELSH PHARMACY BOARD MEETING

Minutes of the formal Welsh Pharmacy Board election meeting held on Tuesday 20 June 2023, at Ashtree Court, Woodsy Close, Cardiff CF23 8RW.

Present:

Geraldine McCaffrey (GM) Vice Chair Richard Evans (RE) Gareth Hughes (GH) Liz Hallett (LH) Rhian Lloyd-Evans (RE) Dylan Jones (DJ) Lowri Puw (LP) Rafia Jamil (RJ) Jodie Gwenter (JG) Helen Davies (HD)

Observers:

There were no observers.

Apologies

Cheryl Way (ChW) Chair

In attendance:

Elen Jones (EJ), Director Wales, Alwyn Fortune (AF), Head of Policy and Engagement, Iwan Hughes (IW) Acting Head of External Relations, Cath Ward (CW) Business Manager. Paul Bennett (PB) CEO.

Elen Jones, (EJ) Director for Wales, took the Chair for the meeting.

1. Welcome

EJ welcomed Board Members (BMs) to the meeting and explained that, as the meeting was being held in open business, it would be recorded.

Apologies

Apologies were noted from Cheryl Way (ChW) Chair

2. Election of Chair of Welsh Pharmacy Board

EJ confirmed that in accordance with the governance process, candidates for the position of chair, had to be nominated by a board member and seconded by another board member. Nominations were received within the appropriate deadline. EJ confirmed that Geraldine McCaffrey was the only nomination.

3. Affirmation of Geraldine McCaffrey (GM) as Chair of Welsh Pharmacy Board

Welsh Pharmacy Board Members were asked to affirm Geraldine McCaffrey as Chair of the Welsh Pharmacy Board.

GM was nominated by Cheryl Way (ChW) and the nomination was seconded by Helen Davies (HD)

The Welsh Pharmacy Board

affirmed by applause

The newly affirmed Chair of the Welsh Pharmacy Board (WPB) made a short statement.

4. Election of Assembly Member from the Welsh Pharmacy Board

EJ explained that as Chair of the WPB, GM's place on Assembly was automatic. As there are two places available Chery Way (ChW) had produced her nomination and address in accordance with the Regulations.

The Welsh Pharmacy Board affirmed. Cheryl Way as the WPB representative to Assembly.