The Society is committed to recognising professional excellence and achievement across all sectors of the profession. As part of this, we award the following each year:

RPS Awards

The awards celebrate and recognise the achievements of groups and individuals within the pharmacy profession.

There are seven award categories, designed to recognise pharmacists from all sectors of the profession and throughout all stages of their pharmacy careers. Proactive and innovative teams and individuals are eligible to enter or nominate colleagues within the seven categories.

Find out more about the RPS Awards »

Pharmacy Research UK Award

This prestigious award sponsored by the Pharmacy Research UK, is intended to recognise individuals who have made a significant contribution to the field of pharmacy practice research and have the potential to become a leader in the field.

Typically, applicants should be at the mid-point of their career e.g. Senior Lecturer or Senior Research Fellow.

Find out more about the Pharmacy Research UK Award »

RPS Science Award

Annual award for a scientist working in a pharmaceutical or allied discipline in industry or academia with no more than 10 years experience at post-doctoral level, applicants must have a proven record of independent research and published work that shows outstanding promise. The winner receives £1,000 in prize money and an invitation to present the Royal Pharmaceutical Society Award Lecture on their work at the annual Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences UKPharmSci Meeting held late summer. Call for applications announced in April each year. Applications are accepted from pharmaceutical scientists working anywhere in the world.

RPS Award for Best All Round 4th Year Pharmacy Student

Annual award for the best all round 4th year pharmacy student in each accredited School of Pharmacy. The recipient is selected by the School of Pharmacy against criteria agreed with the Royal Pharmaceutical Society. The best student receives £200 in prize money and a certificate.

Pharmaceutical Care Awards

The Pharmaceutical Care Awards have been running for 18 years. They recognise innovative practice and service developments that have been shown to improve the health of patients through better medicine-taking. Past winners have come from all pharmacy sectors. Winning projects are varied in scope and reach, and are equally likely to involve large numbers of pharmacies and their teams and have had an impact on scores of patients, as they are to focus on a small number of patients with complex medical conditions that require specialist pharmaceutical knowledge. Judges look for projects that are sustainable over time and repeatable by teams in other parts of the country.

Find out more about the Pharmaceutical Care Awards »

Charter Award

To recognise outstanding service rendered by a member to the Society or, generally, in promoting the interests of pharmacy. One award to be made no more often than annually. The award recipient is proposed by the President and approved by the Assembly at its July meeting. The Award is presented at the ceremony for presentation of awards immediately after the RPS Conference.

Find out more about the Charter Award »

Honorary Membership

Awarded to persons, other than members, who have rendered distinguished service to the Society or to pharmacy. Designations for Honorary Fellowship and Membership decided by the Assembly once a year.

Certificates are presented at the RPS awards ceremony immediately after the RPS Conference.

Honorary Fellowship

Awarded to persons, other than members, who have distinguished themselves in any of the branches of knowledge embraced in the educational or scientific objects of the Society and persons, other than members, who are eminent in public life.

Medicines Safety Award

To recognise a significant contribution to medicines safety in Great Britain. The focus of the award is on specific improvements in medicines safety with documented benefits for patients, saving lives or reducing harm. The award is part of an initiative of a former RPSGB President, Hemant Patel, to make Britain the safest place in the world to receive medicines. One award per year. Applicants called for and judging is by an independent panel.

Award to be presented at the Medicines Safety Conference organised organised by the RPS, with the recipient making a presentation.

Find out more about the Medicines Safety Award »

Hanbury Memorial Award

Awarded every five years to recognise “high excellence in the prosecution or promotion of original research in the natural history and chemistry of drugs. The award was established as a memorial to Daniel Hanbury FRS. The recipient is selected by a special committee set up for this specific purpose.

Harrison Memorial Award

Awarded every two years to recognise achievement by a pharmacist in both the science and practice of pharmacy. It commemorates Lieutenant-Colonel Frank Harrison, an eminent pharmaceutical chemist and analyst in the early 20th century. The recipient is selected by a special committee set up for this specific purpose.