

## **OPEN BUSINESS**

## Minutes of the Assembly Induction Day held on Tuesday, 19<sup>th</sup> July, 2016, 66-68 East Smithfield

- Present:Martin Astbury (AS) President Items 04 onwards, Claire Anderson (CAnd), Catherine Armstrong (CArm), Sibby Buckle (SB),<br/>David Carter (DCar), Duncan Craig (DCra), Sid Dajani (SD), Sandra Gidley (SG), Linda Hakes (LH), Paul Harris (PH), John McAnaw (JM),<br/>David Thomson (DT) and Hamish Wilson (HW)
- In attendance: Mair Davies (MD), Alison Douglas (AD), Catherine Duggan (CD), Helen Gordon (HG) Chair for Items 01-03, Alina Lourie (AL), Alex MacKinnon (AM), Jo Mills (JM), Simon Redman (SR), Julia Kettlewell (JK), Brian Walters (BW), Terry Hanafin (TH)

Apologies: Suzanne Scott-Thomas (SST)

ltem	<b>Related Paper</b>	Minute	Action by
16/04/ASB/01 &		Welcome and apologies	
02		Catherine Armstrong, Sibby Buckle and David Carter were welcomed as new Assembly members.	
		Terry Hanafin was welcomed as Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee and Brian Walters was welcomed as an observer.	
		Apologies were noted from Suzanne Scott-Thomas.	
16/04/ASB/03	16/07/ASB/03	Governance Handbook     Amendments to the Governance Handbook were noted and APPROVED, and the 2016/2017 version was formally adopted.	
			AD
16/04/ASB/04	16/07/ASB/04	<b>Election of President</b> HG reported that following the close of nominations for the role of President, one nomination for Martin Astbury (nominated by Claire Anderson, seconded by David Thomson) had been received and that according to the procedure laid out in Appendix D of the Governance Handbook <i>'in the event that there is only one candidate</i>	

		nominated, the Assembly will be asked to affirm that the person is duly elected'. Assembly members were therefore now asked to affirm MA as RPS President.Discussion took place about the current process for electing the President during which a number of points were made as to how to the process might be improved going forward. MA was then affirmed as President of the Society for the coming 12 months.MA then gave a short speech in which he thanked Ash Soni, outgoing President, for all his good work over the last two years, noting that everyone appreciated what he had done and were extremely grateful for the support he had given to take the role of President forward.
16/04/ASB/05	16/07/ASB/05	Election of Treasurer   HG reported that following the close of nominations for the role of Treasurer the following nominations had been received:   Catherine Armstrong (nominated by David Carter, seconded by Martin Astbury)   Sibby Buckle (nominated by Sid Dajani, seconded by David Carter and Martin Astbury)   David Thomson (nominated by John McAnaw, seconded by Suzanne Scott-Thomas and Martin Astbury)   Statements from all three candidates had been circulated to all Assembly members by email on 12 <sup>th</sup> July and a vote would now take place according to the process set out in the Governance Handbook, Appendix D. HG confirmed that there was no requirement for candidates to make a statement at the meeting prior to the vote taking place as they had been circulated beforehand.   HG noted that SST had, as was her right under Appendix D Voting Procedure (Item 2), already indicated to her who she wished to cast her vote for via a submitting a written statement to this effect.   Members were reminded that in the first round of voting a candidate would need to secure a majority of the votes cast to be successfully elected and were then invited to cast their vote on the ballot papers (as per the process outlined in Appendix D of the Governance Handbook) which were then collected and counted.   As no candidate received a majority of all votes cast in this first ballot, the candidate given the least number of votes in the ballot, Catherine Armstrong, was eliminated and the procedure as set out in the Governance Handbook was repeated with Sibby Buckle and David Thomson going forward into a second round of voting.

As the second vote was tied, according to the Governance Handbook a further ballot was held. Upon receiving a	
majoring of votes case in this third round, David Thomson was elected as Treasurer of the Society for the coming	
12 months. CA and SB were thanked for standing and for making it a closely contested election.	