# **Joint National Statement of Principles on Inclusive Pharmacy Professional Practice**

This statement is the initial outcome of the first National Roundtable on Inclusive Pharmacy Professional Practice, co-hosted by the Chief Pharmaceutical Officer at NHS England and NHS Improvement, the President of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society and the President of the Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK, which was held on 5 August 2020.

**Our Aim:** To work collaboratively to develop and embed inclusive pharmacy professional practice into everyday care for patients and members of the public, to support the prevention of ill-health and address health inequalities within our diverse communities.

We are collaborating to create a safe environment for real change and invite all pharmacy professionals to join with us to help:

- Develop a sustainable culture of more inclusive practice that will benefit the people in our communities as a whole and our workforce.
- Enable us to provide truly inclusive health and care services to the diverse population of England.

We believe that the diversity of our workforce and being a registered health professional together provide us with a unique opportunity to engage with and empower diverse communities and populations in an inclusive way with greater confidence and purpose.

This will involve us learning together to celebrate and embrace diversity, end unfairness and discrimination, and improve pharmacy professional practice, and embed those changes into our everyday systems and our daily work with patients and the public.

The principles which govern this endeavour are:

- We will strive towards pharmacy professionals being an exemplar among UK health professionals for equality, diversity, inclusion, fairness and belonging.
- We will commit as professionals to value all people and to adopt and promote a culture of zero tolerance to all kinds of harassment, bullying and discrimination in the workplace.
- We will proactively seek to learn and understand communities and cultures so that we can be more effective health and care practitioners and providers.
- We will champion national and local policies and initiatives to address health and workforce inequalities.

We will work in partnership with other professions and health and care organisations and representative bodies to embed these principles.

# 25 September 2020

A	1 1 1 1 1	01: (5	
Association of Independent Multiple Pharmacies	Leyla Hannbeck	Chief Executive	ASSOCIATION OF Independent Multiple Pharmacies
Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK	Liz Fidler	President	
Company Chemists' Association	Malcolm Harrison	Chief Executive	CCA COMPANY CHEMISTS' ASSOCIATION
General Pharmaceutical Council	Duncan Rudkin	Chief Executive	General Pharmaceutical Council
Guild of Healthcare Pharmacists	Ewan Maule	Vice President	GHP 
Health Education England	Helen Porter Jane Brown Nick Haddington Ros Cheeseman	Pharmacy Deans	NHS Health Education England
National Pharmacy Association	Mark Lyonette	Chief Executive	National Pharmacy Association
NHS England and NHS Improvement	Keith Ridge	Chief Pharmaceutical Officer	NHS
Primary and Community Care Pharmacy Network	Kam Takhar	Chair	PCCP
Primary Care Pharmacy Association	Graham Stretch	President	PCPA
Pharmacy Defence Association	Alima Batchelor	Head of Policy	pda
Pharmaceutical Services Negotiating Committee	Simon Dukes	Chief Executive	PSNC
Public Health England	Gul Root	National Lead, Pharmacy Public Health	Public Health England
Royal Pharmaceutical Society	Sandra Gidley	President	ROYAL Pharmaceutical Society
UK Black Pharmacists' Association	Elsy Gomez Campos	President	(S) LIMERA
UK Clinical Pharmacy Association	Ruth Bednall	Chair	UKCPA GRECK PRIMARES ARROCATION

# Acknowledging the contribution of patient representative speakers:

Hefaes Rehman	Champions for Achieving Better Health, Sheffield	Chair
Tony Kelly	Diabetes UK	Patient Champion

# Additional signatories from the roundtable:

Name	Organisation	Role
Ade Williams	Bedminster Pharmacy, Bristol	Superintendent Pharmacist
Amandeep Doll	Royal Pharmaceutical Society	Diversity Coordinator
Amita Aggarwal	Health Education England	CPhO Clinical Fellow
Annette Ashley	General Pharmaceutical Council	Head of Policy and Standards
Anisha Soni	NHS England and NHS Improvement	CPhO Clinical Fellow
Anne Joshua	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Head of Pharmacy Integration
Bruce Warner	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Deputy Chief Pharmaceutical Officer
Dalgeet Puaar	Health Education England	Pharmacy Technician Professional Lead
Diane Ashiru- Oredope	Public Health England	Lead Pharmacist, Healthcare Acquired Infections and AMR Division
Duncan Jenkins	Dudley CCG	Specialist in Pharmaceutical Public Health
Gail Hall	Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK	Secretary
Haifa Lyster	Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust	Consultant Pharmacist, Transplantation & VADs
Helen Kilminster	Primary Care Pharmacy Association	National Vice-President
Helga Mangion	National Pharmacy Association	Policy Manager
James Wood	Community Pharmacy Surrey and Sussex	LPC CEO
Janaki Chitsabesan	Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK	Co-founder, Pharmacy Technicians of Colour Group
Jeannette Howe	Department of Health and Social Care	Head of Pharmacy
Jill Loader	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Deputy Director, Pharmacy Commissioning
Karen O' Brien	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Regional Chief Pharmacist (North West)
Layla Rahman	Pharmaceutical Services Negotiating Committee	Regulations Officer
Lelly Oboh	Specialist Pharmacy Service	Consultant Pharmacist, Older People, Guy's and St Thomas's Hospital
Professor Mahendra Patel	University of Bradford University of Sussex RPS English Pharmacy Board	Honorary Visiting Professor Visiting Professor Member
Professor Mala Rao	NHS England and NHS Improvement Imperial College London	Medical Adviser, Workforce Race Equality Implementation Team Professor, Department of Primary Care and Public Health
Matthew Shaw	Centre for Pharmacy Postgraduate Education	Director

# 25 September 2020

Michele Cossey	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Regional Chief Pharmacist (North East and Yorkshire)
Mohammed Hussain	NHS Digital	Senior Clinical Lead
Natasha Callender	NHS England and NHS Improvement	CPhO Clinical Fellow
Paul Bennett	Royal Pharmaceutical Society	Chief Executive
Rahul Singal	North East London NHS Foundation Trust	Chief Pharmacist
Raliat Onatade	Barts Health NHS Trust	Group Chief Pharmacist and Clinical Director for Medicines Optimisation
Ravi Sharma	Royal Pharmaceutical Society	Director for England
Reg Rehal	Primary Care Pharmacy Association	Regional Vice President
Richard Cattell	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Deputy Chief Pharmaceutical Officer
Richard Goodman	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Regional Chief Pharmacist (London)
Richard Seal	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Regional Chief Pharmacist (Midlands)
Robbie Turner	Royal Pharmaceutical Society	Director of Pharmacy and Member Experience
Salmia Khan	Primary Care Pharmacy Association	Chair, Primary Care Pharmacy Technician Group
Samantha Quaye	Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK	Fellow
Sonia Ramdour	Lancashire and South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust	Chief Pharmacist
Stephen Brown	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Regional Chief Pharmacist (South West)
Sue Ladds	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Regional Chief Pharmacist (South East)
Wasim Baqir	NHS England and NHS Improvement	National Pharmacy Advisor, Pharmacy Integration Programme
William Rial	NHS England and NHS Improvement	Regional Chief Pharmacist (East of England)