

SCOTTISH PHARMACY BOARD MEETING

Minutes of the meeting held on Tuesday 14 June 2016, at Holyrood Park House, 106 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AS.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

Present:

Dr Anne Boyter (ACB)
Mrs Kathleen Cowle (KC)
Prof John Cromarty (JC)
Mr Johnathan Laird (JL)

Dr John McAnaw (JMcA) Dr Ailsa Power (AP) Mr David Thomson (DT) Miss Elaine Thomson (ET)

In attendance:

Alex MacKinnon (AMacK), Director for Scotland, Aileen Bryson (ABr), Scottish Practice and Policy Lead, Annamarie McGregor (AMcG), Professional Support Pharmacist, Susanne Cameron-Nielsen (SCN), Head of External Relations, Elspeth Bridges (EBr), Membership Development Manager, Rebecca Martin (RM), Business Support Assistant, Carolyn Rattray (CR), Business Manager, Anna McHarrie (AMcH), student placement and Joanne Mills (JM), Head of Human Resources.

Alex MacKinnon (AMacK) (Director for Scotland) took the Chair for the meeting.

1. Welcome and apologies

Alex MacKinnon (AMacK) welcomed Board Members to the meeting, extending a special welcome to Kathleen Cowle (KC) and Johnathan Laird (JL) who were attending their first Scottish Pharmacy Board meeting as newly elected Scottish Pharmacy Board Members. AMacK congratulated KC and JL on being elected to the Board and also John McAnaw (JMcA) on being re-elected to the Board.

Apologies were received from Ewan Black (EBI), Alan Glauch (AG) and Andrea Smith (AS).

2. Affirmation of Chair of Scottish Pharmacy Board

AMacK advised the meeting that one nomination had been received for the position of Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board.

Dr John McAnaw was nominated by Mr David Thomson and seconded by Professor John Cromarty.

As no other nominations were received, the Scottish Pharmacy Board was asked to affirm by acclaim Dr John McAnaw as Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board.

The Scottish Pharmacy Board

affirmed by acclaim

Dr John McAnaw (JMcA) as Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board for the period 2016 / 2017.

JMcA stated that he was honoured to be re-affirmed as Chair for a second year, noting that it would be a challenging year: "It is going to be a challenging year with the BP; has not lowered the bar of quality. Manifesto – very ambitious, so it should be, if we want to be the professional body in Scotland then it needs to be. Not just in Scotland but also on GB platform – very vocal on behalf of our members and also the profession. BMs are all leaders and we need to help enable our members to be leaders". JMcA confirmed that he would try his hardest to live up to his election statement and not let the Board down. JMcA confirmed that there were no other declarations of interest in relation to the position of Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board.

It was then confirmed that AMacK should continue as Chair for the remainder of the Scottish Pharmacy Board Public Business Elections' meeting.

3. Election of Vice Chairman

Nominations for the position of Vice Chairman of the Scottish Pharmacy Board 2016/2017 were invited.

Dr Ailsa Power was nominated by Prof John Cromarty; this nomination was seconded by Dr Anne Boyter. There were no other nominations for the position of Vice-Chair and so

the Scottish Pharmacy Board

affirmed by acclaim

Dr Ailsa Power (AP) as Vice Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board (SPB) for the period 2016/2017. AP confirmed that there were no other declarations of interest in relation to the position of Vice-Chair.

Election of the Scottish Pharmacy Board's second representative to the RPS Assembly

The Board was asked to nominate a candidate to be the second Scottish Pharmacy Board representative to the RPS Assembly; Board Members were reminded that they could self-nominate.

Mr David Thomson was nominated by Dr Anne Boyter; his nomination was seconded by Prof John Cromarty. There were no other nominations and so

the Scottish Pharmacy Board

affirmed by acclaim

Mr David Thomson as the Scottish Pharmacy Board's second representative to the RPS Assembly for the period 2016 / 2017. David Thomson confirmed that there were no other declarations of interest in relation to the position of second representative to the RPS Assembly.

This concluded the official meeting to elect officers to the Scottish Pharmacy Board and to the RPS Assembly. The meeting ended at 4.25 pm.