Hanbury and Harrison Medal winners announced

RPS announces Hanbury and Harrison Medal winners

Congratulations to Professor Alexander (Sandy) Taylor Florence and Prof Yvonne Perrie, who have been named as the winners of the RPS's Hanbury and Harrison Memorial Medals.

The Hanbury Memorial Medal is awarded once every five years, in memory of British botanist and pharmacologist Daniel Hanbury. It is presented to an individual with a distinguished career in the pharmaceutical sciences.

Winner of the Hanbury Medal, Professor Sandy Florence, is well known internationally for his research into drug delivery, academic leadership and government committee work. Former Dean of The School of Pharmacy, (now the UCL School of Pharmacy) University of London from 1989-2006, he is a pioneer in the pharmaceutical sciences, with research interests in surfactant systems, colloids, dendrimer and nanoparticle uptake, drug targeting and nanotechnology.

Sandy told us, "On hearing of the award I was surprised, of course, and then pleased that whatever work I have done over the past 50 years has been recognised by the Society. While the individual is honoured it is really a tribute to all those who have worked with me, my research students and close colleagues who have given me the tools and freedom to be involved."

The Harrison Memorial Medal is awarded every two years, in memory of distinguished pharmaceutical chemist Col EF Harrison. It is presented to an RPS member who has made an outstanding contribution in advancing pharmaceutical science.

Winner of the Harrison Medal, Professor Yvonne Perrie, gained her PhD from the University of London in 1998. Moving to Aston University in 2000, she was appointed Chair in Drug Delivery in 2007, and in 2016, moved to the University of Strathclyde at part of their Global Talent Appointment Programme where Yvonne continues to develop her research strategies. Her multi-disciplinary research has focused on the development of drug delivery systems, providing practical solutions for current healthcare problems.

Yvonne told us, "I am delighted to receive the Harrison Memorial Medal. It is a great honour to be placed in such distinguished ranks as those of the past winners. Many thanks to those who nominated me and supported my nomination."


We need your support.


Your dedication and commitment during the pandemic has been exceptional.

As we brace for a surge of coronavirus infections, we know that pharmacy will be at the forefront of delivering healthcare.

Whether it’s flu vaccinations or dealing with local lockdowns we need decisions and assurances from the Government to make sure our profession can cope. We must make sure pharmacists get enough supplies of PPE, rapid access to testing in all care settings, and the recognition you deserve.

You told us that our leadership and resources during in the early months of the pandemic were of critical importance. We are now updating our highly valued COVID-19 resources and training webinars to make sure they reflect current - and changing - guidance.

If the enormous mental and physical strain of the past few months is repeated ahead of this winter, the health service will be on its knees. We will be there to make sure pharmacists get mental health and wellbeing support.

We will continue to work hard to give you the tools and guidance to do your job safely. And fight to make sure you get the recognition you deserve.
We are proud to support you. But without members, none of this will be possible.

Become a member and help us do even more.
Joining costs just 60p a day. And means that, whatever the future holds, we will be here for you, so you can support the public and patients.

Join today to protect the future of pharmacy