RPS Scotland celebrates new Fellows

RPS Director for Scotland, Clare Morrison and SPB Chair, Jonathan Burton have written to the nine new pharmacists in Scotland who have received Fellowships, congratulating them on their well-deserved recognition. Each member has made a significant contribution to the profession throughout their careers and has demonstrated commitment, leadership and excellence in their fields.

The nine members receiving Fellowships are:

Gazala Akram

Gazala has a combined role as a clinical pharmacist in the National Psychiatric Unit for Children at the Royal Hospital for Children in Glasgow and a senior teaching fellow at the University of Strathclyde. Gazala is known for her contribution to mental health pharmacy through practice, teaching and research, and for participating in national groups as a clinical expert.  

Arlene Brailey

Arlene provides patient support for people with antibiotic-resistant infections at the charity Antibiotic Research UK. The charity is dedicated to fighting antibiotic resistance through supporting the discovery of antibiotics, educating people about the dangers of antibiotic resistance and providing patient support. She was previously Assistant Director of Pharmacy at NHS Education for Scotland.

Carole Hunter

Carole is Lead Pharmacist for the Alcohol and Drug Service at NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde. She is widely recognised for her expertise in the substance misuse field, including chairing the Scottish Specialist Pharmacists in Substance Misuse Group; sitting on numerous national groups covering drug strategy, naloxone and drug death; and her involvement in anti-doping programmes within Olympic and Commonwealth games.

Jean Logan

Jean has recently retired as the Associate Director of Pharmacy – Community Services at NHS Forth Valley. She is a recognised leader within the profession, with particular expertise in substance misuse and mental health. She continued to practise as a community pharmacist throughout her career which made her highly respected in designing and implementing community services.


Mary McFarlane

Mary is Principal Pharmacist at NHS Shetland. She is well known for her dedication to developing pharmacy services in remote and rural settings. This includes taking innovative approaches to ensure that patients across Shetland can safely access medicines and support for safe and effective medicines use.

Annamarie McGregor

Annamarie is Head of RPS Locals at the Royal Pharmaceutical Society. She is best known for her work in developing the Scottish Government’s pharmaceutical care model schemes and for being a driving force in delivering change in community pharmacy practice in Scotland. Her role at RPS includes leading and supporting professional and practice development.

Baxter Millar

Baxter is Head of NHS Scotland Pharmaceutical Specials Service which has had a key role in supplying medicines to Covid assessment centres. His role has included integrating the NHS pharmacy production units in Glasgow and Dundee into a purpose-built NHS Scotland facility at Ninewells Hospital and sitting on multiple Scottish and UK committees as a quality assurance and production specialist.

Andrea Smith

Andrea is Lead Pharmacist at Fife Health and Social Care Partnership, NHS Fife. She has wide ranging experience in patient safety, public health and community pharmacy. Andrea was previously the National Clinical Lead for Scottish Patient Safety Programme Pharmacy in Primary Care, spent five years as a Scottish Pharmacy Board member, and is a former Principal Policy Adviser for the RPS in Scotland.

Fiona Stewart

Fiona is Associate Postgraduate Pharmacy Dean at NHS Education for Scotland. She is widely known for her expertise in pharmacist prescribing, and for supporting the education and development of pharmacist prescribers. She previously held multiple roles in NHS Forth Valley and was a pioneer in pharmacy prescribing as one of the first pharmacists to undertake the prescribing course.

Find out more about RPS Fellowships.