Entries sought for diabetes award

We are encouraging pharmacists and their teams to submit entries to this competition to find the best joint pharmacy and diabetes team initiative to improve insulin and prescribing safety in hospital. The submissions will be judged against predetermined criteria, by an independent panel chaired by Rowan Hillson, and the winner will be awarded the prestigious annual Rowan Hillson insulin safety award at the Association of British Clinical Diabetologists Spring meeting.

To share excellent practice in collaboration and innovation the outcome of this initiative will be published on the Association of British Clinical Diabetologists and Diabetes Inpatient Specialist Nurses UK Group websites, via the UK Clinical Pharmacist Association diabetes group and on the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Map of Evidence.  

This competition follows the very successful 2014 and 2015 competitions to find the best UK insulin chart and best hypoglycaemia avoidance initiative. Competitive applications are likely to be those that show hard evidence of benefit, that are translatable to other Trusts, are costed, are relatively simple and sustainable, and which have been commissioned or supported by an Acute Trust. This competition is open to all health care professionals. Please email your completed entry form to Christine Jones, JBDS Administrator at [email protected] the 1st January 2017