Honours awarded in 2016

Award winner for Excellence in Education Award winner for Excellence in Education


The NES Advanced Clinical Skills for Pharmacist Independent Prescribers course covers core clinical skills and has been developed and delivered through a multi-disciplinary team of clinicians. It was commissioned by NES Pharmacy to support pharmacist independent prescribers working with their local health care teams to assess, diagnose and treat patients with a range of self-limiting and long term conditions. The first year of the course has been undertaken by 200 pharmacist independent prescribers and is unique in terms of the purpose, partnerships and content. It provides access to clinical skills as well as non-technical skills training in a variety of formats, plus the opportunity to practise skills using simulated patients with specific personal feedback.


  • Atif Shamim
  • Ruth Edwards 

Award winner for Clinical Pharmacist of the Year Award winner for Clinical Pharmacist of the Year


Graham led the mobilisation of a pharmacy team approach demonstrating that clinical pharmacy and medicines management using the whole skill set in pharmacy was essential to delivering an integrated pharmaceutical service for patients. Problems around communication, inadequate review and care planning were overcome. In a wider context, the approach has been adopted by 8 local GP surgeries for community and care home patients. A recent audit demonstrated time savings of approximately one hour per GP per day. The CCG contract has been extended by two years with the hope of further extending the guiding principles of integrating care further.


  • Jaswinder Dhap
  • Gulab Chauhan

Award winner for Leadership in Pharmacy Award Award winner for Leadership in Pharmacy Award


Through Refer-to-Pharmacy, Alistair has changed the way pharmaceutical services are delivered across the primary/secondary care interface in East Lancashire. Its aim is to join up hospital and community pharmacy service and the biggest challenge ultimately is to create awareness of, and demand, to spread the innovation to other health economies. As a result of Refer-to-Pharmacy, 1907 referrals have been made from October 2015 to May 2016 and there has been a reduction in re admissions. The aim is to have a first wave of Refer-to-Pharmacy implemented in the summer of 2016 and a second wave towards the end of the year.


  • Ravi Sharma
  • Medicines Optimisation Team, Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG

Award winner for Local Practice Forum Award Award winner for Local Practice Forum Award


The Wessex LPF steering group agreed a series of actions including extending representation by recruiting new members and appointing a new lead, improving communication with local RPS members and non-members, collaborating more with other local organisations and supporting RPS national campaigns. Wessex LPF’s performance has improved significantly; the dashboard moving to green status in the last 6 months. Social media accounts, the LPF portaland communication tools are being utilised to engage and inform. Wessex LPF have an extensive events programme including joint events and a conference, with a range of topics to attract pharmacists from all areas of practice.


  • Gogledd Cymru North  
  • West Yorkshire

Award winner for Lifetime Achievement Award Award winner for Lifetime Achievement Award

Anthony West

Award winner for Preregistration Pharmacist of the Year Award winner for Preregistration Pharmacist of the Year


Ali started the “Pre Pharmacy Programme”, an initiative targeting secondary school students.Through talk sessions, the aim is to raise awareness of key messages such as the pharmacy degree and its benefits, the pharmacist’s level of responsibility and prestige and the high job satisfaction. Ali is also currently seeking to create an online community pharmacy marketplace for minor ailments and OTC products, believing this will improve patient access and openness to pharmacies in addition to providing customers with the best prices. After receiving positive recommendation from a business consultant and a positive response from community pharmacies, Ali has begun work with a developer to create the website for launch in the next nine months.


  • Acacia Leong
  • Rebecca Burgoyne

Award winner for Public Health Pharmacist of the Year Award winner for Public Health Pharmacist of the Year


Olutayo set out to make a difference in the community by taking pharmacy services to patients rather than waiting for them to come into the pharmacy. Her aim was to create an awareness of a healthy living and to encourage more people to access services, especially for those who are not able to come to the pharmacy. As a result of the outreach programme, there has been a marked improvement in pharmacy use by the community across a range of services including, cancer care, falls prevention, health checks, alcohol abuse and more.


  • Viral Doshi
  • Conall Watson

Award winner for Student of the Year Award Award winner for Student of the Year Award


Lara has been proactive in being a voice for her colleagues and in supporting and leading RGU students in professional involvement. She established a Pharmacy Law and Ethics (PLE) group and has also led the establishment of RGU Professional Bodies Group. Lara has chaired debates on ethical issues and recently led a consultation with her peers on the GPhC’s professional standards. Lara has led a number of events which have allowed students to engage with topical issues within pharmacy. The PLE group has given students a platform to discuss and debate legislation and ethical issues and for students to access peer support in these areas.


  • Ala’a Siam 
  • Mark Sweeney

Newly appointed Fellows Newly appointed Fellows

Alexander Islay Mackinnon

Anne-Marie Bailey

Anwer Ibrahim Issa Ismail Patel

Bharatkumar Jayantilal Patel

Christopher James Nicolson

Colin Andrew Baldwin

Darren Mark Ashcroft

David John Woods

David Roy Philip Terry

Duncan Robert Petty

Fiona Jane Reid

Gail Susanne Fleming

Harry Andrew Crook

Harshvadan Velji Maroo

Helen Jane Williams

Henry Alan Owen Hughes

Ian Cameron Strachan

Jacqueline Lesley Jones

Jane Sarah Nicholls

Jason Hall

Jill Louise Bloom

John Edwin Mackenzie

Jonathan Lee Underhill

Judith Helen Cope

Karen Ang Seok Chin Acott

Karen Louise Harrowing

Michael Anthony Culshaw

Michelle Winifred Bernadette Styles

Patricia Elizabeth Black

Paul Damian Child

Paul Michael Rutter

Peter Burnett Lowe

Peter Timmins

Philip Hadrian Dean

Rachel Ann Elliott

Richard Stanley Bourne

Roger Joseph Fernandes

Ruth Margaret Forrest

Stephen James Peddie

Viral Vinodrai Doshi