Martin Astbury

Martin Astbury

English Pharmacy Board Vice-Chair and RPS Assembly

Current occupation: Community pharmacist, Morrisons Pharmacy

Professional awards: FRPharmS

Professional experience and particular interests: Martin joined the RPSGB Council in 2003, was Vice President 2007 to 2010 and was the first President elected for the new RPS in October 2010. He has also been Pharmacy’s representative on the Council of Healthcare Regulatory Excellence in 2008, and a member of the TransCom led by Nigel Clarke in 2008.

He has been an English Pharmacy Board member since 2007 and an ex-official member of the Scottish and Welsh Boards since 2007. He has also been a member of the RPS Assembly since 2010.

For many years he has been linked with local activity in North Wales, the Mersey region, Yorkshire and the North-West. He is now linked with LPF activity in these areas.

He was a member of the BPSA Executive from 1992 to 1993 and was President of the Students Union at The Square from 1991 to 1992.

Since 2007 Martin has been a Charity trustee for the Galen Trust, the Manchester Pharmaceutical Association Scholarship, the Devon and Cornwall Exhibition, the Hanbury Memorial Medal, the Corfield Memorial Trust, the Harrison Memorial Medal, the Humphrey Jones Scholarship, the Leverhulme Scholarships, the Victor Reed Fund and PETCO. He has also been a trustee of PPRT since 2010.

Martin has been the RPSGB representative on FIP (the International Pharmaceutical Federation) Council since 2007, the RPSGB representative on FIP community pharmacy section since 2008.