Pharmaceutical Group of the European Union

The Pharmaceutical Group of the European Union (PGEU) is the European association representing community pharmacists.  PGEU's members are the national associations of representative bodies of community pharmacists in the 33 European countries including EU Member States, EU applicant and acceding countries, and EEA members. 

The Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) and the National Pharmacy Association (NPA) are members of the PGEU, which represents the organisations at the European level.

The PGEU was founded in 1959 in parallel with what has become today the European Union.  At the first "pharmacy days" meeting held in Milan in 1959, the participants decided to formalise the co-operation by founding the association which today is known as the PGEU in English, or GPUE (Groupe pharmaceutique de l'Union Européenne) in French.


Return To Top