Support Alert

Prescriptions issued in the EEA and Switzerland: guidance for pharmacists

Department of Health and Social Care has produced guidance for pharmacists on prescriptions issued in EEA countries and Switzerland. From 1 January 2021, a prescription issued in an EEA member state (EU countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) or Switzerland can be dispensed in the UK if the prescriber is from a profession recognised by this guidance that is legally entitled to issue a prescription of that kind in the country in which the prescription is issued.

Further details and actions for pharmacist can be found on the website

We have also updated our guidance on Prescriptions from the EEA and Switzerland. You can find it here

If you have any questions about Prescriptions issued in the EEA  contact our One-to-One Support Team.