Honours awarded in 2014 

Lifetime achievement award Lifetime achievement award

Professor David (Theo) Raynor
Professor of Pharmacy Practice, University of Leeds

DK Theo Raynor FRPharmS has pioneered innovative, patient-centred research in communicating medicines information over the past 35 years. This research has informed significant improvements nationally and internationally in the information supplied by pharmacists to patients.

Theo graduated from the Nottingham in 1979, and his lifetime’s research began with his pre-registration project on medicine label wordings. The next 20 years in hospital clinical practice was marked by continuing research, and he became a key figure in the multi-agency pressure group ‘Promoting Excellence in Consumer Medicines Information’ (PECMI), which lobbied UK and European legislators in the 1990s. He became inaugural Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the University of Leeds, in 2000.

Theo’s work has always retained a patient focus , and a central part of his team’s research was critically examining the impact of European legislation on patient information leaflets, and the introduction in 2005 of mandatory 'user testing' with lay people. This led to the formation of the University of Leeds spin-out company ‘Luto Research’ - which has become one the biggest and most influential providers of user testing services across Europe, with bases in Leeds and Paris. The synergies between Theo’s work at the University and at Luto have been at the foundation of his recent internationally influential work, including an international research collaboration, as part of the Worldwide Universities Network, with the Universities of Wisconsin and Sydney. In 2010 Theo was invited by the BNF to lead collaborative research to develop a revised set of pharmacy label wordings, now in routine use. Other notable outputs include the purple ‘Lithium booklet’, refined and tested for the National Patient Safety Agency.

Theo’s current focus is how best to present benefit and harm information – without which he believes patients cannot be truly ’informed’. In a recent BMJ editorial, he promoted his view that an informed patient should be a goal in itself – if they then decide that a medicine is not right for them, this is an acceptable outcome.

Theo has advised the Commission on Human Medicines, the European Medicines Agency, the European Parliament, and the US Food and Drugs Administration. He was appointed a Fellow of the RPS in 2012 and has delivered invited plenaries across the world, including the Centennial World Pharmacy Congress, and as Practice Chair of the BPC in 2008. In 2012 he was appointed to the Expert Advisory Panel of the RPS, and played an important role in developing the patient-centred aspects of the 2014 publication ‘New Medicines, Better Medicines, Better Use of Medicines’. Theo has more than 150 research publications, and is passionate about wider dissemination of his research, and appears frequently in the press, radio and television, on the need for better consumer medicines information. In 2013 he gave the 53rd annual Rennebohm Lecture at the University of Wisconsin.

His is currently an academic advisor to European Commission funded research on the shortcomings of patient information leaflets, and how they can be improved – continuing his work to improve this crucial information for patients.

RPS clinical pharmacist of the year RPS clinical pharmacist of the year

Julia Blagburn MRPharmS
Senior Lead Clinical Pharmacist for older people's medicine & community health, Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust


Lesley Herd MRPharmS, Senior Pharmacist, Frail Older Persons’ Pathway, University Hospital Crosshouse, Kilmarnock
Anja St Clair Jones, Lead Pharmacist Digestive Diseases, Royal Sussex County Hospital, Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

RPS Public Health Pharmacist of the Year RPS Public Health Pharmacist of the Year

Chima Olughu MRPharmS
Public Health Programme Manager, Royal Borough of Greenwich


Anju Ganger MRPharmS and Andrew Lane MRPharmS, Community Pharmacist’s, Alchem Pharmacy, Farnham Road Surgery, Slough, Berkshire
Ray Lyon MRPharmS, Chief Pharmacist, Strategy, Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
Viral Doshi MRPharmS, Public Health Specialist Pharmacist, Public Health, London Borough Hillingdon

RPS Pre-Registration Trainee of the Year RPS Pre-Registration Trainee of the Year

Saqlain Shah ARPharmS
Pre-registration Pharmacist, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust


Shilan Ghafoor, ARPharmS, Pre-registration Pharmacist, Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust
Amy Price ARPharmS, Pre-registration Pharmacist, University Hospitals Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
Mohamed Yasin Bhaiji ARPharmS, Pre-Registration Pharmacist, East London Foundation Trust and Day Lewis Pharmacy

RPS Local Practice Forum of the Year RPS Local Practice Forum of the Year

Birmingham and Solihull LPF


South West London LPF and London South East LPF
Sussex LPF

RPS Pharmacy Research UK Award RPS Pharmacy Research UK Award

Dr Ellen Schafheutle PhD FFRPS MRPharmS

Senior Lecturer in Law and Professionalism in Pharmacy, Group Leader for Pharmacy Education, Manchester Pharmacy School, The University of Manchester

RPS Student of the Year RPS Student of the Year

Cristina Dumitru
University of Bath


Alykhan Alyan Kassam, University of Bradford
Abigayle Meikle-Roche, Pre-Registration Student, Lloyds Pharmacy
Mohammed Adeel, University of Wolverhampton and President of Wolves PharmSoc 

RPS Excellence in Education Award RPS Excellence in Education Award

Alison Strath FRPharmS
Professor of Community Pharmacy Practice, Robert Gordon University

Highly Commended:
Dr Andrew Husband MRPharmS, Acting Dean of Pharmacy, Durham University
Dr Rose Marie Parr FRPharmS, Director of Pharmacy, NHS Education for Scotland & the NHS Education for Scotland Pharmacy Team

RPS Leadership in Pharmacy Award RPS Leadership in Pharmacy Award

Bawan Abdullah Ahmed ARPharmS
Erbil-Kurdistan of Iraq, Regulatory affairs pharmacist at Kurdistan Medical Control Agency (KMCA)

Community Pharmacy Future Project Team
Carol McCall MRPharmS, Specialist Advisor/Director of Integrated Governance, National Clinical Homecare Association

Newly appointed Fellows Newly appointed Fellows

  • Alison Beaney
  • Mark Borthwick
  • Sibby Buckle
  • Elizabeth Butterfield
  • Richard Cattell
  • Brian Cox
  • Jonathan David
  • Andrea Devaney
  • Neil Doggett
  • Richard Owen Evans
  • Carol Anne Farrow
  • Celia Feetam
  • John Gentle 
  • Andrew Gush
  • Kieran Hand
  • Richard Hey
  • Gareth Holyfield
  • Clare Howard
  • Stuart Johnstone
  • Roger Knaggs
  • Andrzej Kostrzewski
  • Christopher Langley
  • Deborah Layton
  • Robert Lea
  • Jill Loader
  • John Francis Marriott
  • Cathrine McKenzie
  • Richard Needle
  • Lelosa Oboh
  • Ann Veronica Page
  • Caroline Parker
  • Yvonne Perrie
  • Jane Portlock
  • John Quinn
  • Carol Anne Roberts
  • Philip John Rogers
  • Alaster Rutherford
  • Susan Sanders
  • Tony Schofield
  • Barry Shooter
  • Anthony Sinclair
  • Wendy Spicer
  • Molly Stevens
  • Nuttan Tanna
  • David Taylor
  • Margaret Joan Taylor
  • Lucy Titcomb